Sabbatical gratitude

Sabbatical is…

  • being mindful
  • being quiet
  • being with
  • breathing fresh ocean air deep into my lungs
  • considering the wisdom of my spiritual teachers
  • creating memories of joy
  • delighting in perfect peaches at the Des Moines Farmer’s Market
  • eating handmade chocolates in Joseph, Oregon
  • flying above the clouds
  • gathering with my cousins for Kuz Kamp reunion at our family lake cabin
  • getting splashed by my nephews as they jumped into the lake
  • hearing stories of hope from a German friend
  • hiking in the Wallowa mountains with a great friend
  • holding a baby
  • laughing with dear friends in a beautiful home on Cape Cod
  • listening
  • napping on couches and beds in the summer heat
  • narrating Dr. Seuss’s There’s a Wocket in my Pocket to Zella at bedtime
  • opening myself to moments of inspiration on a lakeside bench
  • paddling down the St. Croix River with Seth, Zella and Yeti
  • pedaling for hours on the Gateway, Sakatah and Cape Cod Rail Trails
  • playing games with my family
  • reading novels recommended by friends
  • remembering who I am and the people who have loved me into being
  • sailing and kayaking on Lake Francis
  • shoveling dirt on an organic farm
  • sitting on the top of a butte in the Zumwalt Prairie Preserve and enjoying the marvelous vista
  • slowing down to hear the bird song serenade at Lake McKusick
  • swimming, swimming everywhere
  • teaching Zella how to float in the lake
  • trying lobster for the first time
  • waking up to the sight of goats and llamas out my window
  • walking with friends under an expansive blue sky
  • watching strawberry juice drip down Zella’s chin and arms at the berry farm
  • witnessing my brother’s parenting prowess
  • writing to clarify what I care about most

In sum, sabbatical has been a gift of time set apart for joy and for the expansion of my soul.  I am overwhelmed with gratitude for those of you who made this time possible and for those of you who shared this time with me.

Thank you!

What are you thinking?

